SMART: Learn to code with C++

Yes, I would like to avoid this. Image.

Specific

I will learn to code using C++ so that I can create C++ based Unreal projects but also so that I can get transferable coding skill’s that are employable outside the game development industry. I will do this by following a course called Beginning C++ Programming From Beginner to Beyond on Udemy. I will complete this course in 6 weeks by allocating 7 hours per week.

Measurable

I will track my progress by monitoring my ability to explain in my own words what the tutor is doing, complete all the course quizzes and coding exercises. I will also supplement this with completing small tasks agreed upon with my tutors from the course. The measurable outcome will be that I will be able to explain and use all of the concepts and skills taught on the course and this will be evidenced by the programs I will create as discussed above.

Achievable

This is achievable because I have already gained experience with C++ to a point where I can write simple console applications. I have the right learning materials, the right people surrounding me for support and the allocated time to practice the skills that I need. The skill level that I am aiming for is intermediate in this case, with a new SMART goal being created for the journey to an advanced level afterwards. I need to make sure that I stay focused on the concepts that I am learning and that I understand them completely before moving onto other things. I am aware that coding is a skill that builds up in layers of complexity and that a shoddy foundation would seriously inhibit my ability to learn to code properly.

Relevant

This skill is relevant to me because I want to learn how to make video games but also acquire coding as a transferable skill. The achievement of this goal would improve my ability to create great games and also the opportunity of employment should game development not work out for me as quickly as I would like. I am the right person for this as I have already shown an aptitude for blue print scripting in Unreal and am able to understand the overarching concepts behind programming. My personality type is also of relevance here, as I like problem solving and have the patience and determination to learn complex skills while not taking failure as a negative experience.

Time Bound

I will be attempting to complete the course mentioned above inside 6 weeks at which point another SMART goal should be defined. I have allocated 7 hours per week to this task.

2 thoughts on “SMART: Learn to code with C++

Leave a comment